The Australian Anglican Directory


Chart of Australian Dioceses

Illustrating their descent with a list of Diocesans.

Tasmania became a diocese in 1842 and mainland Australia was divided into four dioceses in 1847. Letters patent for Adelaide, Melbourne and Newcastle dioceses were issued on 25 June 1847. Bishop Broughton’s Letters Patent was redrafted creating him Metropolitan of Australia and Bishop of Sydney.